
Day two brought a heavy overcast of tiredness, which was to be expected. I am slowly slipping out of my constant state of being wired awake. To "catch up on one's sleep" is a real simplification of how the body functions. You can't really sleep for 12 hrs and make up for the four hours you missed the previous night. It doesn't really work that way. You condition your body to function under certain circumstances and when you want to change you have to set up a new pattern and wait for it to adjust to the new set of conditions. In the same respect, you can't just stop consuming sugar and caffeine and expect for it to leave your system immediately. Some people say that once you've digested a cup of coffee or a soda that it takes 3 or 4 hours to leave your system. I don't look at it like that. When you continually drink caffeine day after day it builds up. If you were to drink coffee non-stop I imagine that you would eventually overdose. So, depending on what level you've built up will dictate how long it takes to leave your body. Hence, withdraw, which is why most people refuse to give it up. It's hard to see the benefit of quitting when you feel like shit for a week or however long it really takes. I couldn't say for sure.
On a related not, I was pretty cranky at work today. I didn't yell at anyone, but I got pretty upfront with a coworker. He was being pretty lame, but probably didn't deserve it. I've actually found from the times in my life where I stopped drinking coffee and soda that I much more open with my emotions. When I'm addicted to something that messes with your mental picture it actually holds me back except for maybe the first hour or so after ingesting it, but then it loses its effect and my mind shuts down. That's the ultimate crux of caffeine. It's only good for such a brief period then afterwards you're much worse off.
No comments:
Post a Comment